Form: TH- 09



Exempt Action Final Regulation Agency Background Document

Agency Name:	Board of Social Work, Department of Health Professions
VAC Chapter Number:	18 VAC 140-20-10 et seq.
Regulation Title:	Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work
Action Title:	Fee reduction
Date:	2/23/03

Where an agency or regulation is exempt in part or in whole from the requirements of the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 *et seq.* of the *Code of Virginia*) (APA), the agency may provide information pertaining to the action to be included on the Regulatory Town Hall. The agency must still comply the requirements of the Virginia Register Act (§ 9-6.18 *et seq.* of the *Code of Virginia*) and file with the Registrar and publish their regulations in a style and format conforming with the *Virginia Register Form, Style and Procedure Manual.* The agency must also comply with Executive Order Fifty-Eight (99) which requires an assessment of the regulation's impact on the institution of the family and family stability.

This agency background document may be used for actions exempt pursuant to § 9-6.14:4.1(C) at the final stage. Note that agency actions exempt pursuant to § 9-6.14:4.1(C) of the APA do not require filing with the Registrar at the proposed stage.

In addition, agency actions exempt pursuant to § 9-6.14:4.1(B) of the APA are not subject to the requirements of the Virginia Register Act (§ 9-6.18 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and therefore are not subject to publication. Please refer to the Virginia Register Form, Style and Procedure Manual for more information.

Summary

Please provide a brief summary of the proposed new regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or the regulation being repealed. There is no need to state each provision or amendment or restate the purpose and intent of the regulation, instead give a summary of the regulatory action and alert the reader to all substantive matters or changes. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.

The Board of Social Work has amended 18 VAC 140-20-30 in order to reduce fees for licensed social workers and licensed clinical social workers for the next biennial renewal in order to reduce the surplus in its budget. Renewal fees will be reduced for licensed social workers from \$110 to \$55 and for licensed clinical social workers from \$125 to \$65. The renewal fees for persons holding an inactive license are set in 18 VAC 140-20-100 which states that "A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive status may do so upon payment of a fee equal to one half of the biennial license renewal fee as indicated on the renewal form." Therefore, the renewal fee for an

inactive licensed social workers will be reduced from \$55 to \$30 and for an inactive licensed clinical social workers from \$65 to \$35, but it will not be necessary to amend that section.

The affected licensees renew on a biennial basis, so the fee reduction will be effective for this renewal cycle ending on June 30, 2003. The Board will return to the current renewal fees on June 1, 2005 in time for the next renewal of licenses.

Form: TH-09

Statement of Final Agency Action

Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency .including the date the action was taken, the name of the agency taking the action, and the title of the regulation.

On February 21, 2003, the Virginia Board of Social Work adopted amendments to regulations, 18 VAC 140-20-10 et seq. (*Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work*) to reduce fees from June 1, 2003 to June 1, 2005.

Additional Information

Please indicate that the text of the proposed regulation, the reporting forms the agency intends to incorporate or use in administering the proposed regulation, a copy of any documents to be incorporated by reference are attached.

Please state that the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) has certified that the agency has the statutory authority to promulgate the proposed regulation and that it comports with applicable state and/or federal law. Note that the OAG's certification is not required for Marine Resources Commission regulations.

If the exemption claimed falls under § 9-6.14:4.1(C) (4)(c) of the APA please include the federal law or regulations being relied upon for the final agency action.

The text of the amended regulation is attached to this submission.

The Assistant Attorney General has certified that amendments to 18 VAC 140-20-10 et seq., which will reduce renewal fees charged to licensees, are exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act under provisions of § 2.2-4006 (7).

Family Impact Statement

Please provide an analysis of the regulatory action that assesses the impact on the institution of the family and family stability including the extent to which the regulatory action will: 1) strengthen or erode the authority and rights of parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their children; 2) encourage or discourage economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of responsibility for oneself, one's spouse, and one's children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode the marital commitment; and 4) increase or decrease disposable family income.

The Board determined that there is no impact on the family or family stability as a result of these amendments to regulations. There will be a very modest increase in disposable family income for those social workers who are personally responsible for payment of licensure fees.